Lookin’ for adventure..

Yesterday, an alert sounded throughout the hospital PA system while they were readying DH for the transport to the rehab. The nurses looked out the window and said that it was probably due to that storm cloud right there. It was, indeed. Severe t-storm and flooding watch. Well, of course. This drive to the rehab with meself bringing up the rear, is over all highway and a year-long bridge, now even more interesting in having been narrowed by concrete walls while they build the new lanes.  (I’m sorry — you knew I was Irish, right?)

I stopped home first, because I’d had like 15 coffees and the bridge crawl loomed… So, I got some of the deluge quite personally as I ran from car to house ramp. Changed my shirt, grabbed an umbrella, ran back out, got soaked (not even deluges come straight down), tried to close the umbrella, couldn’t, got soaked more. You know those days. You have to have the a/c on for the defroster while you’re wet, so that you can see something even though your windshield wipers can’t keep up with deluges — even before the fog on the bridge will render it utterly moot. Yes. I hope no one ever plants a hidden mic in my car. (Indeed, that has become one of my bigger hopes.) Who didn’t I call on Up There, after the apology for one person in a weather event bothering the Alpha and Omega, a la “Jesus, take the wheel!!” and finishing up with an unanswered, “Are You listening??  Are You listening?? They’re waiting for me!!”  “I CAN’T SEE!  I CAN’T SEE!”

Told the toll-taker, “Oh, fine, thanks. You?” Got lost twice, but found my way, after going as slowly as everyone without an SUV was, though I did not put on my 4-way flashers, as many had. As I finally stepped from the car, utilizing my last nerve (and having become a Relaxicle), the sun came out, the clouds went away, and I entered the building. Hair plastered to my head, eyes like Gollum, I spooked the hell out of the lady at the desk. “I AM FINALLY HERE!” She said, “Uh.. yes!” Turns out that she wasn’t one of them who was waiting for me.

Then, there was THE most magnificent double rainbow to say that He was indeed listening. If you saw it, too, you’re welcome.

:-p  Oy. Some days. It’s all blind faith.

The baby is doing better, even last night. I don’t have a word on his mom, yet, but DH had an ok night. Catheter remains a couple more days, and maybe Coumadin.  I’m going over there shortly.

Have an excellent Sunday, people, and try to remember those crazy-good rainbows. A perfect half-circle of a sweet covenant only God could bring forth (and expect His beloved to fill in the rest with faith, even if it sounds like frantic screaming).


.

13 thoughts on “Lookin’ for adventure..

  1. loisajay says:

    My knuckles are still white from the drive over. You are one heckuva good driver, you know that?!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jackcollier7 says:

    Double rainbows must mean something very special, I just wish I knew what it was ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jmpod says:

    Definite adventure. Good of you to make the frightful trek.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. He is watching you! For sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gail says:

    Wow! I think I experienced every emotion there is while reading this! And then you had me absolutely roaring when you said you spooked the hell out of the lady behind the desk! Ha!

    So glad it all ended with the double rainbow! God is good!

    Liked by 1 person

I'm here...

