Update

The good news:

DH’s discharge is tentatively scheduled for mid-next-week.

The not so good news:

An ultrasound revealed a blood clot near the broken iliac bone site (femoral artery), so his PT/OT is curtailed a bit and he’s receiving Heparin and Coumadin. Since he is not allowed to put any weight on that side’s foot, and I do mean none, the clot is not likely to move, anyway, but of course its presence is as troubling as all the others he’s had from injury sites. We’ll just be glad when it’s gone.

I remembered that he couldn’t eat greens (vitamin K) while on blood thinners, but I forgot he couldn’t use the disposable shavers right now (bleeding risk from razor cut).  I hope there’s an electric shaver somewhere in the downstairs bathroom closet, still. If not, he’s growing a beard this summer!

I asked him not to, but he went ahead and donated his wheelchair and shower seat after his 2010 fall’s recuperation. We had all the other equipment, though, because I hid it all. Nch. Men.  He can’t use the crutches (broken ribs), so he’s stuck with the walker, which means he can only hop, so he wouldn’t be going farther this summer than the dining room or the deck — unless we were to borrow the wheelchair that’s been offered by friends. I mentioned the need for one a couple days ago, and he got right on that issue. He’s sick to death of being cooped up!

He’ll be home in time for birthday/anniversary season. Ocean season, too. Thank God it’s not winter!! Plus, his old Peace Corp friend (and his g/f) will be visiting Aug 2 and 3 here. I think we’ll skip the restaurant dinner, but we could still likely take them sightseeing, as it’s mostly the coast they want to see.

The new step-great-grand is doing well, now, as is his mom. Everyone’s doing well, right now. I’m tired as hell all the time, now, but truly, thank God it’s not winter!  The tiredness will pass, or at least ease up, soon. Until I get to work, anyhow!

Ah, well. I don’t know if any customers owe him money, but regardless, he’ll be filing for retirement benefits on July 21, and that will kick in pretty quickly. It’s a whole lot more substantial than my own, which won’t kick in ’til next year, but I’ll be working at least until then, and maybe well beyond. I guess we’ll see.

I think it’s not that God laughs when man makes plans, but that He cries. But then He shows us how to make lemonade.


.

15 thoughts on “Update

  1. lifelessons says:

    Glad to hear the good news–sorry about the bad. I take it your visitor is his past girlfriend and not a present one! Since you are “relaxed” about this, I imagine the latter. ;o) Strength, friend. I thought looking after 4 kittens and a very sick 15 year old cat was tiring. Now I’m gonna change my tune.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Relax... says:

      Oops, I must’ve missed inserting a comma — husband’s Peace Corp buddy is Bob, and Bob’s girlfriend is coming with him on the visit, lol! And thank you — I will need strength this time.

      Like

    • Relax... says:

      I didn’t realize your cat was sick — I’m sorry, and how are YOU feeling lately? Have the breathing issues resolved? And you’re all recovered from that awful car accident?

      Like

  2. I also pray for strength for you – I’ve been there – nursing a hubby after a fall from a ladder – it’s not a cakewalk, not in the least.

    But I am glad to hear that he’s mending and back home, soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Relax... says:

      Thank you! We’re both pretty self sufficient, but there are those days one wants to pull one’s hair out (and his, too — as you likely know). As I say, thank God it’s not winter. I’d lose my last 3.5 marbles.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gail says:

    Thanks for the update. Glad to hear the good news. Still saying prayers for all of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Relax... says:

      (((Thank you))) They’ve bumped up the discharge date from mid-week to maybe Friday; not sure why, but we’ll probably find out what’s what come Monday!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Gail says:

        Is his pain better?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Relax... says:

        Yes, thank God. He doesn’t have to move much, so that helps! It’s still pretty fierce both rib-wise and pelvis-wise during P.T. It’s going to a long recovery, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gail says:

        Yikes. How did he fall? Off a ladder? Poor thing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Relax... says:

        No, the first two falls (shattered right side, then left side) were from rooves. This one was through a set of outside stairs up to a second floor apartment that he was replacing. Again, landed on concrete, but this time shattered his middle! We didn’t have insurance with the last fall, which is the one that broke his cheek and forehead, too, but this time he’s fully covered, so he can have any kind of care for as long as he needs it. And fortunately, the pelvic bone that was broken is not on the hip replacement side. He’s got nothing left to break but hands and feet, and he’s already missing a fingertip from a utility trailer-drop moment, so…. he’d better protect his feet very well!

        Like

  4. Good to hear of the progress. I will still pray.

    Liked by 1 person

I'm here...

