Halved Popsicle Days

We’ll skip the verb part of “soil” and head straight for the noun.

In so doing, what’s the first graphic that jumps to mind for the word “soil”?

Yeah, me, too. 🙂 It’s so different from “dirt,” somehow!

Wherever we are in all this world, “soil” brings visions of handfuls of soft, dark aerated earth — something nutrient enough and warm enough and aromatic enough to even grow angels in, were soil not earth of the earth.

It wouldn’t do a New Englander any good to ask Santa for a bag of soil. It doesn’t look good against our blanketings of white at that time of year, but to ask the Easter Bunny, well.. yes.  All the Bunny Nation likes soil. I could get lucky, there.

As if roots weren’t cool-beans enough, we get to shake the soil off of them and plant something magical, again. But first, oh, just to touch it, and sift it between fingers before patting it back down around new plantings. What a great planet.

I’m in my second childhood, aren’t I? Aren’t you? Did it ever end?

🙂


.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Halved Popsicle Days

  1. loisajay says:

    haha! We are on the same page with soil/dirt! Funny, but soil as a verb totally eluded me. Probably with good reason…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yes, I am . . . and it is better than my first childhood, which was pretty good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your wit! And I especially like this sentence – soil” brings visions of handfuls of soft, dark aerated earth — something nutrient enough and warm enough and aromatic enough to even grow angels in, were soil not earth of the earth. Awe I just want to dig a hole and grow! Thank you for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

I'm here...

