Spicy, or spice-y…

Indeed, spicy is today’s word prompt. All I really wanted to say was that when it comes to spicy as an adjective to describe certain foods, I come up with bupkis. I don’t care for spice-y foods at all. As a matter of fact, if eucalyptus leaves tasted like mac’n’cheese made with Velveeta, I might be a *pear-shaped* koala and we wouldn’t be having this conversation; I’d be looking innocuously blank while sporting wild ear hair, and you’d be offering me eucalytpus leaves for some reason known only to man, and I would eat all 42 of them wondrously slowly and take a nap.

However, I had to Google the word “bupkis.” I wasn’t sure of the spelling, and I’d thought it meant “nothing much” — but who can be sure about Yiddish without Googling??

There are two things online that I ought to work even harder to avoid these days: Any *news* about Prez Twit, and Google.

In an effort to control my sometimes Irishly spiced language, I had changed certain exclamations of negative surprise. Suffice it to say one substitution from a kids’ show worked fairly well, “Thunderin’ buffalos!!” Over the years, I needed more than that, so I sorta plagiarized Jerry Lee Lewis lyrics, a la: “Goodness gracious, great balls of puppy fluff!” My 84-year old co-worker would be convulsed before I was halfway through, and then, so would I!

However, there are times one needs something a little stronger, like if one is American in a despot time. Yiddish can provide so well.  Who knew??  I headed right for that Wikipedia minion, and found many spellings for “bupkis” but generally one meaning: the equivalent of small round fecal pellets like goat droppings. Well, yes.. but it went on. If you add to it, a la “bobkes mit kidokhes,” you are saying, in effect, that you are left with “shivering shit balls.”

Uh huh.

I’m deeply afraid I will de-Yiddish the whole original concept of bupkis and go straight for the spicier English version as my new exclamation of negative surprise, should I stub my toe or someone drop something large directly behind me.

Let’s all just hope I’m not in church at the time.

.

I'm here...

